Thoughts on this?

I personally think he's spot on, the top leagues are just getting worse, as a spectacle I mean. They have to find a way of injecting the entertainment back into the game but of course there's too much money involved. I don't watch too much PL these days, it's crap. Too few games are entertaining. Who wants to watch the multi millionaire squad attacking 2 rows of 5 in front of a goalkeeper.

This of course could be good for lower league football, we want to watch proper matches don't we? Well I do anyway. Just from a personal point of view, where you've all been on about Mainoo, TAA, Foden, Saka, Bellingham etc during the Euros I have little knowledge of them. Of course I've heard of them all and watched some of them play, but I'm not as schooled as you lot are with them as I consider the product they produce as tripe. I don't mean to detract from their skill and abilities individually, it isn't the players faults.

Anyway, here it is.

• Thanks 1

It’s interesting in that, there are many schools of thought about ‘entertainment’ and football. 
Like the England game tonight, there were elements that weren’t entertaining but there were bits that were. I could appreciate the organisation of the Swiss side, well drilled, good teamwork. 

England I thought were better than recently, but again struggled to break through that organisation of the Swiss. 

More a game for the purist, maybe?

But, this entertainment thing, is it symptomatic of the seeming need for instant gratification by many these days?  Messi, Ronaldo, both VERY good players. No doubt world class. But the focus is on those goals, bits of skill, etc etc for the TikTok generation…. Not necessarily the appreciation of the hard yards they’ve had to put in to het to the levels they’re at